WxW Faculty & Board Members

Our mission is to create a rigorous and compassionate environment to learn the art of reading and writing from accomplished authors. We are honored to have the following faculty members lead our workshops.

Tomales Bay Workshop Faculty

2018: Charles Baxter, Pam Houston, Ilya Kaminsky, Dani Shapiro, Justin Torres, Sunil Yapa

2017:  Garth Greenwell, Pam HoustonFenton Johnson, Joan Naviyuk Kane, Cheryl Strayed, Luis Alberto Urrea

2016:  Richard Bausch, Pam HoustonAda LimonPaul Lisicky, Justin Torres, Claire Vaye Watkins

2015:  Dorothy AllisonSteve AlmondMark Doty, Greg Glazner, Pam Houston, Lidia Yuknavitch

2014:  Dorothy Allison, Robert Boswell, Kwame Dawes, Andre Dubus III, Pam Houston, Antonya Nelson

2013:  Dorothy Allison, Ron Carlson, Pam Houston, Fenton Johnson, Antonya Nelson, Carl Phillips

Boulder Generative Workshop Faculty

2019: Steve Almond, Ross GayPam Houston,

2018: Pam Houston, Justin Torres, Lidia Yuknavitch, 

2017:  Andre Dubus III, Camille Dungy, Pam Houston

2016:  Craig Childs, Pam Houston, Luis Alberto Urrea

2015:  Gary Ferguson, Alan Heathcock, Pam Houston

2014:  BK Loren, Pam Houston, Ben Percy

Manuscript Boot Camp Faculty

2019: Ramona Ausubel, Samantha Dunn, Pam Houston, Christian Kiefer,

2018:  Samantha DunnBK Loren, Pam Houston, Fenton Johnson, Joshua Mohr, Derek Palacio

2017:  Samantha Dunn, Pam Houston, BK Loren,  Joshua Mohr, Lidia Yuknavitch

2016:  Samantha Dunn, Christian KieferBK Loren, Pam Houston

2015:  Tom Barbash, Pam Houston, Josh Weil

Methow Valley Workshop Faculty

2018: Peter Ho Davies, Pam Houston, Joshua Mohr

2017: Ross Gay, Pam Houston, Lidia Yuknavitch

2016: Ron Carlson, Andre Dubus III, Pam Houston, Lidia Yuknavitch

Mont Blanc Workshop Faculty

2018: Andre Dubus III, Pam Houston

Board of Directors

Pam Houston (Co-Founder), President
Karen Nelson (Co-Founder), Vice-President/Treasurer
Tami Anderson, Secretary
Kae Penner Howell
Heather Malcolm


Karen Nelson, Executive Director
Pam Houston, Creative Director

Emeritus Board:
Greg Glazner
Cynthia Newberry Martin,
Sarah Phipps